NAACL HLT 2010 Student Research Workshop Call for Papers
1. General Invitation for Submissions

The Student Research Workshop (SRW) is an established tradition at ACL conferences. The workshop provides a venue for student researchers investigating topics in computational linguistics and natural language processing to present their work and receive feedback from a general audience as well as from panelists. The panelists are experienced researchers who will prepare in-depth comments and questions in advance of the presentation.

We invite student researchers to submit their work to this workshop. Since the SRW is an excellent testing ground for your ideas before an international audience of experts, the emphasis of the workshop will be on work in progress. Admissible research can derive from any topic area within computational linguistics and can be applicable to either speech or text. A list of topic areas is provided in the Call for Papers for the NAACL HLT 2010 Conference and is available at:

We invite the submission of both full (6 pages) and short (4 pages) papers. The short papers will only be considered for poster presentations.

2. Submission Requirements

The emphasis of the workshop is original and unpublished research. The papers should describe original work in progress. Students who have decided on their thesis direction but still have significant research left to do are particularly encouraged to submit papers.

Since the main purpose of presenting at the workshop is to exchange ideas with other researchers and to receive helpful feedback for further development of the work, papers should clearly indicate directions for future research wherever appropriate. All authors of multi-author papers MUST be students. Papers submitted for this workshop are eligible only if they have not been presented at any other meeting with publicly available published proceedings. Students who have already presented at an ACL/EACL/NAACL Student Research Workshop may not submit to this workshop. These students should submit their papers to the main conference instead.

3. Submission Procedure

Submission will be electronic using the paper submission web page below:

Submissions should follow the two-column format of ACL proceedings and should not exceed 6 pages (4 pages for short papers), including references. We strongly recommend the use of ACL LaTeX style files or Microsoft Word style files tailored for this year's conference. These files are available at:

A description of the format is available there in case you are unable to use these style files directly. All submissions must be electronic: please use the submission website above to submit your paper.

4. Reviewing Procedure

The review procedure of papers submitted to the Student Workshop will be managed by the Student Research Workshop Co-Chairs, with the assistance of a team of reviewers. Each submission will be matched with a mixed panel of student and senior researchers for review. The final acceptance decision will be based on the results of these reviews. The review process is double-blind; therefore, please ensure that your paper shows the title, but no other information that can identify the author(s). For example, rather than this: ''We showed previously (Smith, 2001), ...'', use citations such as: ''Smith (2001) previously showed ...''.

5. Schedule

The papers must be submitted no later than 11:59 PST, February 15, 2010. No papers received after this deadline will be accepted. Acknowledgment will be emailed soon after receipt. Notification of acceptance will be sent to authors (by email) on March 30, 2010. Detailed formatting guidelines for the preparation of the final camera-ready copy will be provided to authors with their acceptance notice.

Important Dates:

  • Papers due: February 15, 2010
  • Notification of acceptance: March 30, 2010
  • Camera ready papers due: April 12, 2010
  • Conference date: June 1-6, 2010

The Student Research Workshop will be held during the NAACL HLT 2010 conference.

6. Contact Information

If you need to contact the co-chairs of the Student Workshop, please use:

An e-mail sent to this address will be forwarded to all co-chairs.

Julia Hockenmaier (Faculty Advisor)
University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois, USA

Diane Litman (Faculty Advisor)
University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Adriane Boyd (NLP Co-Chair)
Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, USA

Mahesh Joshi (NLP Co-Chair)
Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Frank Rudzicz (Speech Co-Chair)
University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada